Ireland’s Euro 2020 qualification group revealed

30 April 1997; Republic of Ireland manager Mick McCarthy pictured at the final whistle after his side's defeat to Romania. World Cup Qualifier, Romania v Republic of Ireland, Bucharest, Romania. Soccer. Picture credit; David Maher/SPORTSFILE

The Republic of Ireland have drawn Denmark, Switzerland, Georgia, and Gibraltar in their Euro 2020 qualification group.

The Boys in Green were initially placed in Group C, but escaped a challenging group including Germany and the Netherlands due to FIFA’s hosting rule.

Instead, Mick McCarthy’s team have been drawn in Group D after this morning’s draw at the Convention Centre in Dublin.

The top two will progress from each group, with another four overall places up for grabs through the UEFA Nations League play-offs.

Ireland’s qualification will kick off in March, with the fixtures to be finalized later today.

“They explained before that there were certain things that couldn’t happen,” Mick McCarthy told RTÉ afterwards after Ireland escaped Group C.

“I looked at Nuno (Gomes) when he picked it and he looked at Robbie (Keane) and he looked at Ronnie (Whelan) so we knew who it was. So, it was a surprise (to get taken out).

“I’m not saying our group is easier but the Netherlands and Germany would have been a really tough ask and then of course Michael O’Neill (Northern Ireland manager) got it.

“I think everyone is asking me is it an ‘easy’ draw. It’s not because Georgia was one I looked at in Pot 4 that’s a tough one because we’ve played them before and they’ve always had good teams.”

Northern Ireland had no such luck.

Michael O’Neill’s side have been placed in Group C alongside Germany, the Netherlands, Estonia, and Belarus.

England will fancy their chances of topping Group A, where they are joined by the Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, and Kosovo.

In Group E, Wales will face Croatia, Slovakia, Hungary, and Azerbaijan.

Here is the draw in full:

Group A – England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo

Group B – Portugal, Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg

Group C – Netherlands, Germany, Northern Ireland, Estonia, Belarus

Group D – Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar

Group E – Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan

Group F – Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania, Faroe Islands, Malta

Group G – Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, Macedonia, Latvia

Group H – France, Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova, Andorra

Group I – Belgium, Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, San Marino

Group J – Italy, Bosina and Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia, Liechtenstein

Written by david_smith

YBIG SHOP 300*250

Obafemi produces assist on first Premier League start

Matt Doherty scores stoppage time winner for Wolves