Here are the 23 heroes will wear the green jersey with pride at Euro 2016

Euro 2016 countdown: Martin O’Neill reveals his hand

The Irish squad has finally been named.

Despite carrying a calf injury, Robbie Keane takes his place on the plane to France but there is no place for David Forde with Keiren Westwood getting the nod alongside Shay Given and Darren Randolph.

Harry Arter – who was forced to withdraw from the squad prior to the 2-1 defeat against Belarus in Turner’s Cross – misses out although manager Martin O’Neill did tell RTE that there is still hope for the midfielder should he recover and anyone else drop out.

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph, Shay Given, Keiren Westwood.

Defenders: Seamus Coleman, Cyrus Christie, John O’Shea, Ciaran Clark, Shane Duffy, Richard Keogh, Robbie Brady, Stephen Ward.

Midfielders: Glenn Whelan, James McCarthy, Jeff Hendrick, Wes Hoolahan, James McClean, Aiden McGeady, Stephen Quinn, David Meyler.

Forwards: Shane Long, Jon Walters, Daryl Murphy, Robbie Keane.

Written by YBIG 12

YBIG SHOP 300*250

The Green Army’s essential road tripping guide to Euro 2016

Euro 2016: Republic of Ireland v Sweden – Your ultimate guide to Paris