The nominees for the Irish Overseas Player of the Year have been announced

Robbie Brady, Jeff Hendrick and Shane Long are the three contenders for the Irish Overseas Player of the Year.

All three were key players for Martin O’Neill’s side in 2016. Long’s now famous strike handed Ireland an historic 1-0 win over Germany in Dublin, while Brady and Hendrick were arguably Ireland’s two best players at the Euros.

Hendrick’s fine form earned him a deadline day move to Burnley in the Premier League, but Robbie Brady has surprisingly remained in the Championship with Norwich for now.

While Shane Long is yet to get off the mark for Southampton this season, the Tipperary native netted the opening goal in Ireland’s 3-1 recent victory over Moldova.

Dundalk duo Daryl Horgan and Stephen O’Donnell are in the running for the PFAI Player of the Year award, along with Cork City’s Greg Bolger and Sean Maguire, while Dylan Connolly (Bray), Sean Maguire (Cork), Kevin O’Connor (Cork) are competing for the Young Player of the Year award.

Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Denise O’Sullivan (Houston Dash), and Louise Quinn (Eskiltuna United) are the three nominees for the Women’s Senior International Player of Year.


David Smith

Written by david_smith

YBIG SHOP 300*250

Eddie Howe – Harry Arter’s Form Will Be “Rewarded” By Ireland

They Think It’s Moldova!