Republic of Ireland and Martin O’Neill nominated for RTÉ Sport awards

The Republic of Ireland soccer team have been nominated for the RTÉ Sport Team of the Year award.

Martin O’Neill has also made the shortlist for the RTÉ Sport Awards Manager of the Year.

The boys in green have enjoyed an excellent year, the highlight of which was reaching the last 16 of Euro 2016.

Ireland beat Italy 1-0 in their final group game to progress, thanks to Robbie Brady’s header, but lost 2-1 to eventual runners up France in the knockout round.

Ireland are also currently top of their 2018 World Cup qualification group.

Dundalk and their manager Stephen Kenny have also been nominated for the respective awards, with the Airtricity champions embarking on an historic run in the Europa League this year.

Michael O’Neill and Northern Ireland have also been shortlisted due to their successful year, in which they also reached the knockout stages of Euro 2016.

The winners of The RTÉ Sport Awards will be announced on December 17th.

Here are both shortlists in full.


RTÉ Sport Team of the Year nominees

Connacht – Pro-12 Champions

Cork – All-Ireland Ladies Football champions

Dublin – All Ireland Men’s Football champions

Dundalk – League of Ireland Premier Division champions

Gary and Paul O’Donovan – Olympic rowing silver medalists

Ireland’s Paralympic Athletics team – Winners of five medals in Rio

Ireland’s Paralympic Cycling team – Winners of five medals at the Rio Games

Irish rugby team – For beating the All Blacks for the first time in their history

Kilkenny – All Ireland Camogie champions

Northern Ireland football team – Qualified for last 16 of the European Championships

Republic of Ireland soccer team – Qualified for last 16 of the European Championships

Tipperary – All Ireland hurling champions


RTÉ Manager of the Year nominees

Dominic Casey – Coach of Olympic silver medalists Gary and Paul O’Donovan

Ann Downey – Manager of Camogie All-Ireland winners Kilkenny

Ephie Fitzgerald – Manager of All-Ireland Ladies Football champions Cork

Jim Gavin – Manager of All-Ireland Football champions Dublin

Stephen Kenny – Manager of League of Ireland winners Dundalk

Pat Lam – Head coach of PRO12 champions Connacht

Willie Mullins – Trainer of seven Cheltenham winners, plus another 34 Grade 1 wins worldwide

Martin O’Neill – Republic of Ireland football manager

Michael O’Neill – Northern Ireland football manager

Aidan O’Brien – Trainer of Arc de Triomphe 1,2,3 Found, Highland Reel and Order Of St George

Michael Ryan – Manager of All-Ireland Hurling champions Tipperary

Written by david_smith

YBIG SHOP 300*250

Green Army fan portraits from Austria game

Weekend Roundup: Hendrick and Ward score, Arter suspended