EA Sport Cup Final: Limerick 1-4 St. Patrick’s Athletic

The players after famous win

St. Patrick’s Athletic retained the EA SPORTS Cup in style on Saturday night against Limerick in Markets Field.

Liam Buckley’s side triumphed 4-1 over their First Division opponents, in what was a hugely entertaining final.

Lee-J Lynch gave Limerick the lead in the first half when he blasted home from the edge of the area, much to the delight of the home crowd. The Shannonsiders employed a high pressing game, and it troubled St. Pat’s in the first half.

Lynch’s goal meant that Limerick went into the break with a 1-0 lead, but the second half was a different affair. Limerick could have doubled their lead on 52 minutes, but Pat’s ‘keeper Conor O’Malley did well to thwart Chris Mulhall, who was put through by Lynch.

St. Pat’s attacking play was finally rewarded when Billy Dennehy crossed for Fagan to tap home at the back post to level the tie. Conan Byrne doubled the visitors’ lead with a decent finish after a flick on from Fagan with six minutes remaining.

Jamie McGrath put the game beyond doubt, as he cleverly lifted the ball over Freddy Hall after being played through by the hugely impressive Byrne.

Graham Kelly sealed the victory in stoppage time, after beating Hall to the ball and slotting home into an empty net.

Limerick: Freddy Hall; Shaun Kelly (Shane Tracy 65),  Paudie O’Connor, Robbie Williams, Sean Russell; Paul O’Conor, Lee-J Lynch, Shane Duggan, Stephen Kenny (Garbhan Coughlan 80), Aaron Greene, Chris Mulhall (John O’Flynn 71).

St. Patrick’s Athletic: Conor O’Malley; Ger O’Brien, Seán Hoare, Michael Barker, Ian Bermingham; Graham Kelly, Conan Byrne, Billy Dennehy (Mark Timlin 89), Christy Fagan (Dinny Corcoran 86)

Written by david_smith

YBIG SHOP 300*250

Irish Abroad: “Seamus Coleman is like Luis Suarez”

Irish Abroad: Roy Keane’s advice to Conor Hourihane