Six players cut from Republic of Ireland squad

Six Republic of Ireland players have missed out on the final squad for the upcoming matches against Denmark and Wales.

Graham Burke, Richie Towell, Daryl Horgan, Greg Cunningham, and Alan Judge have been omitted from the final squad for the UEFA Nations League double-header.

Towell’s wait for an international cap will go on, and Burke will also be disappointed to miss out.

Harry Arter is included, and Martin O’Neill has revealed that the midfielder and Roy Keane met with each other to sort out their issues.

“I think he’s absolutely fine,” the Irish manager said.

“The two of them have been talking, they met up again last night. It’s good to put any sort of rancour behind him. He and Roy have made up.

“It’s good to put [the incident] behind him and it’s nice to see him back.”

The Boys in Green face Denmark at the Aviva on Saturday before hosting Wales at the same venue three days later.

Final squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Colin Doyle (Hearts), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), John Egan, Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers)

Midfielders: Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Shaun Williams (Millwall), David Meyler (Reading), Harry Arter (Cardiff City), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Callum Robinson, Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa)

Written by david_smith

YBIG SHOP 300*250

Matt Doherty scores his first Premier League goal

WATCH: Troy Parrott scores Panenka