2017/18 SSE Airtricity League fixture list revealed

The 2018 SSE Airtricity League fixture list has been released.

The 2018/19 season will kick off on Friday, February 16th, and run through until the 2nd of June.

A Dublin derby is the pick of the opening fixtures, with Bohemians hosting Shamrock Rovers at Dalymount Park.

Title holders Cork City beginning their title defence with an away trip to St. Patrick’s Athletic, before welcoming newly promoted Waterford to Turner’s Cross on the February 23rd.

Derry City will travel to Waterford, and Sligo will face Limerick at the Showgrounds.

Dundalk will host Bray Wanderers at Oriel Park in their first game, before travelling to Tallaght to face Shamrock Rovers a week later.

The Lilywhites will face John Caulfield’s champions at Oriel Park in early March, with the return fixture scheduled for the 27th of April.

The First Division will resume on February 23rd, and Galway United will host neighbours Athlone Town in their first game since being relegated last season.

There has also been a change in format, which will see the second, third and fourth-placed clubs from the second tier go into the promotion/relegation play-offs at the end of the season.

You can find the full list of fixtures here.

Opening weekend fixtures:
Friday 16 February (7.45pm ko)
Bohemians v Shamrock Rovers, Dalymount Park
Dundalk v Bray Wanderers, Oriel Park
St Patrick’s Athletic v Cork City, Richmond Park
Waterford v Derry City, RSC
Saturday 17 February 
Sligo Rovers v Limerick The Showgrounds, 7.45 pm

Written by david_smith

YBIG SHOP 300*250

Weekend Roundup: Pilkington scores, Duffy and McShane suspended

Ireland u21 ‘keeper signs new Manchester United deal